My homemade layout boat build

The place for boats, boating, and boat building.
MoWaterfowl

My homemade layout boat build

Post by MoWaterfowl »

I'll first start by saying, I'm not a professional boat builder. This is in fact, only the second boat I've built. Like the first, I set out to make the most incredible layout boat that could ever be built. I'm close, but there is always room for improvement. I welcome constructive criticism and feedback.

When designing the vessel, I had several goals I wanted to accomplish.
1. Durability
We hunt ice here. We hunt rivers with logs, boulders, and other nefarious obstacles. We hunt flooded timber lakes where the biggest threat lies just beneath the water. Thin remnants of trees that could high center a boat skewering it like a pig.

2. Payload
We haul a lot of gear here. Some days we put out over 12 dozen duck decoys just to shoot 4 mallards each. Other days we pack in every goose decoy we can get, and even tow another boat behind us with even more gear. On top of all that, you have a hot-wing-eating-beer-drinkin-bastard like me at 6'1" 240lbs.

3. Low Profile
Most of the marshes here are moist soil with thick but short grass to hide in. However, there is some standing corn to be found for late season hunts. The boat needed to be low profile enough to hide in the short grass.

4. Performance
I wanted to make something that balanced weight, durability, and payload using materials that would provide unmatched strength while minimizing weight.

5. Boat Ramp Envy
If I'm going to all of this trouble and expense, why not create something that on sight inspires in every other guy at the ramp, the hate and envy of a runner up at a beauty pageant? I'm talking about a giant slice of envy pie washed down with a tall glass of extra strength haterade.
Vessel Specs:
Overall length: 13' 10"
Overall height: 16"
Transom height: 15"
Construction Type: Stitch-N-Glue Fiberglass